We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Nominations open in LDEG Executive elections

January 11, 2021 10:00 AM

Cross on ballot

This notice opens the process of electing the officers and executive members of the Liberal Democrat European Group for the next two-year period.

According to the LDEG Constitution there are 23* open positions as follows:

  • Six officers: Chair, Vice-Chair (Campaigns), Vice-Chair (Communications), Secretary, Treasurer, Membership Data Officer
  • One member representing each of 13* Party regions or nations (11* in England, Scotland and Wales)
  • Four ordinary members

The timetable for the elections is as follows:

  • Open nominations: 10 January
  • Close nominations: 24 January
  • Opening ballot: 7 February
  • Close ballot and declaration of results: 21 February

Nominations must be proposed and seconded by current LDEG members and accepted by the member nominated.

Nominations shall be sent by email to the address below stating the position the candidate is standing for and the names of their proposer and seconder. The proposer and seconder shall be copied into the email via the CC address box. Nominations close at 23.59 on Sunday 24 January 2020.

After close of nominations the Returning Officer will confirm the situation. In the case of any contested positions further instructions will be issued in line with the timetable stated above.

The results will be announced immediately following the close of the ballot both on the LDEG website and by email to all members.

Louise Morales
Returning Officer

* This page was corrected after publication to indicate 11 rather than 10 English regions. The regions are:

  1. North West
  2. North East
  3. Yorkshire and Humberside
  4. West Midlands
  5. East Midlands
  6. East of England
  7. London
  8. South East
  9. South Central
  10. Western Counties
  11. Devon and Cornwall